How to close your Instagram account

0 19

If you’ve made the decision to delete Instagram, whether it’s because you’ve outgrown the need for a certain finsta or because its parent company Meta is courting controversy once again, doing so isn’t as quick or as easy as it should be. If you’ve outgrown the need for a certain finsta, you can delete it from your phone by going to the app’s settings and selecting the Delete Up until very recently, it was not even possible to do so from within the Instagram app itself.

If you’d like, you can go ahead and take a few minutes to post the standard “I’m deleting Instagram” message if you want to. After that, you have a choice between two approaches to taking care of it.

ERASING AN INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT VIA THE APP FOR IOS OR ANDROID

Using the Instagram app itself is the quickest and easiest option for iPhone users to cancel their account. To accomplish this, navigate to your profile, hit the hamburger menu located in the upper right corner, and pick Settings from the drop-down menu. After that, click Account, and then scroll all the way down until you reach the bottom of the menu. Under the button for the branded content, there will be a button labelled “Delete Account.”

If you have it, pressing on it will bring up a menu asking if you want to delete or deactivate your account. You can learn more about the various choices available to you in the section of this how-to titled “Temporarily suspending your Instagram account.” If you press the Delete account option, a notice will appear informing you that you have until a particular date to log back in and stop the process of having your account deleted.

If you select the red Continue removing account button, the application will launch a web browser on your device. After providing an explanation for your decision to delete your account and entering your password for verification, you will be able to finish the procedure and successfully delete your account.

Because of Apple’s guidelines, Instagram’s iOS app is required to provide users with the option to cancel their accounts. During the course of our testing, we have occasionally been unable to access the option when using the Android version of the app. You can determine whether or not you have the option to delete your account by following the steps outlined for iOS above; however, if you do not have this choice, you will need to delete your account via the web.

ERASING YOUR INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT ON THE INTERNET

In the event that you are unable to deactivate your account through the mobile application, you will need to follow the steps outlined in this article to deactivate your account. These steps can be completed on either a computer or a phone, provided that you are using a browser on either device.

 

You will first need to navigate to the Instagram account deletion request page, which may be accessed by clicking this link or following the link provided in the assistance article regarding the deletion of an Instagram account. You will be need to enter your login information into Instagram for the web if you are not already logged in (which is likely the case for the vast majority of users). Because it is quite likely that you will have to enter your password twice more before the deletion process is complete, it is in your best interest to be sure that you are familiar with the password at this time.

Instagram will make it abundantly obvious whose account you are about to deactivate and will inquire as to the reason why.

You need to select a reason for why you want to delete your account from the dropdown menu, which should appear on a page with the old Instagram logo. You may be shown with a notice asking you to check whose account you’re deleting or you may be provided numerous links to Instagram’s help centre offering to fix your troubles. This will depend on whatever choice you choose when presented with these options.

No matter which option you select, a text box will appear below the links requesting that you re-enter your password. After you have done so, tap or click the button that says Delete (your account name), and after doing so, confirm that you are certain that you want to delete your account.

After you have entered your password, tapping the delete button will bring up a final confirmation window for you to check.

Your information won’t be removed right away because Instagram makes it clear on the website where you may delete your account that Meta will maintain a copy of it for a period of 30 days. However, both your profile and the posts you make will be concealed from view on the site.

If you’ve decided to entirely cut ties with Instagram, it’s important to remember to uninstall the programme on your mobile device as well. If you do this, you will free up some space on your device, but it will also make it more difficult for you to sign up for the service again in the future.

HOW TO RECONSTRUCT YOUR INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT AFTER IT HAS BEEN DELETED

Be advised that if it has been more than 30 days since you asked Instagram to deactivate your account, you won’t be able to reactivate it under any circumstances. You will be required to register a new account (while your username will become available again once your old account has been removed, there is still a chance that someone else has already claimed it).

Simply logging in again over the next 30 days will allow you to restore access to your account.

However, if you are still within the grace period of thirty days, you will be able to retrieve your account, along with all of its posts and direct messages. Simply return to Instagram and log in with the information required to access your account. You will see a notification informing you that you have requested the deletion of your account, along with the date on which all of your data will be removed. Simply clicking the button labelled “Keep Account” will prevent it from taking place.

YOUR INSTAGRAM ACCOUNT WILL BE PUT ON HOLD DURING THIS TIME

You have the option of suspending your account rather than permanently deleting all of your photographs and communications if you want to hide your profile from public view but don’t want to lose access to them.

You may easily access the screen that allows you to suspend your account, but you will need to do so through a web browser in order to do so.

Once more, Meta forces you to use the online version of Instagram rather than the app, but at least this time you won’t need to receive a link from a help article.

Once you have logged into Instagram.com, navigate to your profile and select the Edit Profile button. If you are using a mobile browser, you will need to hit the settings cog in order to access this option.

From there, select the option to “Temporarily disable my account” from the “Edit Profile” menu by going to the very bottom of the page. In the same way that you would do so in order to delete your account, you will be required to enter your password and choose a reason for suspending your account.

page that appears when you select “Temporarily disable account” on Instagram.

Simply logging in again, whether using the mobile app or the internet, will allow you to reactivate your account. You will only be allowed to temporarily deactivate your account once per seven days. This means that if you inadvertently log back into your profile, your postings will once again be available and visible to followers, at least for a short period of time.

 

Updated as of 8:32 AM, July 2, 2022, Eastern Time: The first version of this essay was released online on November 17th, 2021. Instructions on how to delete your account via the app have been included to this latest version.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.